top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichele Schwartz

Flat After Breast Cancer....The Fashion Struggle is Real.....



You‘re a 30 something year old woman, living life, having fun, working, maybe married, maybe not. Maybe kids, maybe not. You love to shop. Love to be with the latest trends. Or maybe you just love being comfortable and trendy. Maybe you just love to be comfy. Whatever your style is, you have it down. You know where to shop, you know what you like. Sure your size may vary from time to time and year to year, but that's okay. You figure it out.


But then all of a sudden, your world turns upside down because you get sick with cancer. Breast cancer. And the only way to hopefully make the cancer go away is to have a mastectomy. Or maybe a double mastectomy. And maybe before that mastectomy or double mastectomy you've completed chemo or maybe your surgery was first and now chemo is starting. Maybe you are just moving onto radiation or maybe after your double mastectomy you are done because that is all you needed. Maybe your mastectomy or double mastectomy led to reconstruction. Maybe the reconstruction needed several surgical procedures. Maybe after all that is said and done, you needed more surgery - as in a hysterectomy or oophorectomy. Maybe this happened in your 20's. Maybe this happened in your 40's or 50's or 60's... or even later in life. No matter when it happens, if it happens, it is still hard. It is all hard. Your life changes. Your body obviously changes.


But while your fighting it really doesn't matter too much. Or maybe it does and you try to seek out the best wigs for when your hair falls out and the most effective way to apply makeup so that you don't look sickly, even though you feel like crap a majority of the time. Maybe you try to find clothes that make you feel your best on your good days so you actually can feel good. Or maybe you don't because you don't care as much. Never the less, you are tired, and worn out and maybe you are swollen and maybe you've lost weight or maybe you've gained weight. Maybe you are weak, maybe you are burned from radiation, maybe you get tired of trying to look your best and just give in to the times.


Then maybe your treatments can end and maybe your hair starts to grow back. Your swelling starts to go down and your burns start to heal. Maybe your reconstruction fills are done or your reconstruction has to be finished. Maybe your bones hurt or your hands and feet are numb. Maybe you are starting to look less sickly, even though you still feel awful. Or maybe you are starting to feel better too. But no matter how you look at it, everything has changed. It has changed a million times since this all started. Your body, your hair, your skin, your bones, your hands and feet, your mind, your emotions, your demeanor. And now you are starting to reenter the world again.. going out with family or friends and you know you look different than before. You now have scars and hardly any hair but are tired of wigs and hats because it gets soooo hot on your head and your hot flashes from being medically put into menopause, that you also have to now deal with is out of control and clothes.... man, what clothes do you wear now when always sweating or when reconstruction is done, or in my case.... you are now flat.


I tried reconstruction and although it does work for some, and is a very personal decision when it comes to choices, it was not for me. And so I chose to remain flat, and I'm absolutely happy and have never been prouder of myself for making this decision that was best for me. But with this again new body type, adds more challenges, including fashion choices. I have scars, which are okay to show, but my skin has been surgically folded over in areas that I am not ready to expose yet, and don't forget that the flatter the clothes lay on top, the more revealing the midsection becomes, depending on how it all lays or hangs there. So figuring out what works for me now has been quite the struggle... especially when trying to find dresses.


BUT... lo and behold, there is the Amazon "Try Before You Buy" option which has been AMAZING for me because I've been able to select clothing items, try them on just as I would in a store, and send them back if I'm not satisfied with it. I like this better than store to store shopping because these hot flashes do NOT work out too well in those hot fitting rooms. And I can try on at home with multiple styles of pants or shoes or shirts to see if it's something I would truly wear. And I've found so many other fellow "flatties" who struggle in the same way with finding clothes that work for them, just like I do, so I decided that I need to share my findings.. and so I became an Amazon Associate!! I am going to share what I love and add the link to the items and when you click on the link and make a purchase, I make a commission!! Win, Win for everyone, right?! :o)


So, here's my first find that I absolutely LOVE!!!


The Milumia Women's Boho Cold Shoulder Contrast Guipure Lace Tie Back Short Tunic Dress!!












I love it because it is soft and not clingy in the midsection area. It's flowy, breathable and the cold shoulders add a nice touch. The neckline is very flattering too! I'm 4'10 and wearing a size medium. Like it too? Click the link below! Want more information? Feel free to Contact me! We are in this together and I am here for you... :o)


Stay tuned for more!!

Until next time, my warriors......


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page