top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichele Schwartz

The Aftermath

The aftermath of breast cancer is not what it seems to be.

Its not “hooray let’s go, it’s over, oh yay …”

It’s everyday we pray,

that those cells don’t come back to attack me.


It’s every ache and every pain and every thought inside my mind,

Thinking “oh great what is this now, what is it that they’ll find.”


That something so tiny that no one can see,

Might be hiding somewhere waiting to be,


Something that will eventually get discovered

Hopefully not too much later than the other

Time we found something growing inside

this body of mine.


This body of mine was once diseased,

with those cells that no one could see. A sickness hiding inside me, that tried to take me down.


I had to torture my body for months on end,

Praying to see around that bend,

That this journey would soon come to an end.


With chemo, radiation and surgeries and meds,

One chemo was actually the color red,

Wreaked havoc on my body, like they all said.


But I was stronger than those cells,

My diseased body won and I prevailed.

I just have to hope and pray that these cells don’t reappear and turn to be something more hiding inside me.


I’m in a world now with death all around me,

That’s the way that my life has turned to be. Some journeys end up good,

Some not like you hoped it would.


And now there’s nothing left to do,

But to hope the other shoe

Doesn’t drop on me…..


The aftermath of breast cancer isn’t all that it seems to be.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page